Virginia minimum wage increases May 1

Virginia’s minimum wage will increase from $7.25 to $9.50 per hour effective May 1, 2021.

This is part of a series of scheduled minimum wage increases brought about by legislation passed by the Virginia General Assembly in 2020. The legislation raises the state minimum wage to $15.00 per hour by 2026 as well as eliminates various minimum wage exemptions like small employers, nannies, and piece-rate workers.

Tipped wages continue to follow the state minimum cash wage payment under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act at $2.13 per hour. However, “tipped employees” in Virginia are considered employees who regularly receive over $30.00 per month in tips.

Disclaimer: The information contained herein is not intended to be construed as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. Employers should closely monitor the rules and regulations specific to their jurisdiction(s) and should seek advice from counsel relative to their rights and responsibilities.

By Dakota Hebert
Chief Marketing Officer, Checkwriters
Dakota joined Checkwriters in 2013, where he worked in the Sales and Marketing departments and currently serves as Chief Marketing Officer. He is responsible for the company’s national brand and marketing, corporate communications, and hosts the Checkwriters Podcast. Previously, he worked in communications in the U.S. Senate in Washington, D.C. He lives with his wife and five children in Massachusetts.

Go back