Nevada requires paid COVID-19 vaccination leave

Effective June 9, 2021 employers that have 50 or more employees in Nevada are required to provide employees with paid leave to get vaccinated for COVID-19. Employees are entitled to take paid COVID vaccination leave through December 31, 2023. You don’t have to provide paid COVID vaccination leave if you are in your first two years of operation or if you offer employees onsite COVID vaccination during work.

Employees are entitled to up to 2 hours of paid leave per shot. This leave is in addition to earned paid leave that became mandatory on January 1 of this year. You can require employees to provide up to 12 hours of notice before taking paid COVID vaccination leave.

Two other requirements to note: You must keep records regarding employees’ use of this leave for at least one year. In addition, you will need to display a poster once the Nevada Labor Commissioner creates it.

Disclaimer: The information contained herein is not intended to be construed as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. Employers should closely monitor the rules and regulations specific to their jurisdiction(s) and should seek advice from counsel relative to their rights and responsibilities.

By Megan Butz
General Counsel, HR Compliance, Checkwriters
Megan joined Checkwriters in 2020 and is responsible for reviewing, revising, and implementing internal policies of the company, advising on human resource, employment, and labor matters, and monitoring and publishing state and federal legal updates to the Checkwriters News and Compliance Center for distribution to thousands of clients around the country. Before joining Checkwriters, Megan served as a judicial law clerk for the justices of the Massachusetts Probate and Family Court performing legal research and writing, followed by private practice in Cape Cod.

Go back