Missouri minimum wage update

  • Effective January 1, 2021, the state minimum wage is $10.30 per hour.
  • Tipped employees must be paid at least one-half of the state minimum wage. The state minimum base wage for tipped employees is $5.15 per hour. If there is a deficit between the state minimum wage and the employee’s base wage plus tips, the employer is required to make up the difference.
  • The state minimum wage law does not apply to public employers or retail or service businesses whose annual gross sales are less than $500,000.00.
  • For more information, please visit the Missouri Department of Labor website.

By Megan Butz
General Counsel, HR Compliance, Checkwriters
Megan joined Checkwriters in 2020 and is responsible for reviewing, revising, and implementing internal policies of the company, advising on human resource, employment, and labor matters, and monitoring and publishing state and federal legal updates to the Checkwriters News and Compliance Center for distribution to thousands of clients around the country. Before joining Checkwriters, Megan served as a judicial law clerk for the justices of the Massachusetts Probate and Family Court performing legal research and writing, followed by private practice in Cape Cod.

Go back