Minnesota minimum wage update

  • Effective January 1, 2021, the state minimum wage for large employers (those with annual gross revenues of $500,000.00 or more) is $10.08 per hour. The minimum wage for small employers (those with annual gross revenues of less than $500,000.00) is $8.21 per hour.
  • J-1 Visa employees: The state minimum wage for those employees of hotels, motels, and resorts working under the authority of a summer work, travel exchange visitor (J) non-immigrant visa is $8.21 per hour.
  • Employers may pay a training wage of $8.21 per hour for employees under the age of twenty (20) for the first ninety (90) days of their employment.
  • Minor employees under the age of eighteen (18) may be paid a minimum wage of $8.21 per hour.
  • For more information, please visit the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry website.

By Megan Butz
General Counsel, HR Compliance, Checkwriters
Megan joined Checkwriters in 2020 and is responsible for reviewing, revising, and implementing internal policies of the company, advising on human resource, employment, and labor matters, and monitoring and publishing state and federal legal updates to the Checkwriters News and Compliance Center for distribution to thousands of clients around the country. Before joining Checkwriters, Megan served as a judicial law clerk for the justices of the Massachusetts Probate and Family Court performing legal research and writing, followed by private practice in Cape Cod.

Go back