Rhode Island Paid Leave guide
What are state paid family and medical leave laws?
State paid family and medical leave laws provide for paid leave from work for eligible employees based on certain qualifying life events, such as the birth or adoption of a child, to care for oneself or a family member who is experiencing a serious medical condition, or to care for a family member injured while on active duty in the military, among others. Employees receive a weekly benefit which represents a portion of their regular compensation based upon a state created formula.
We've compiled a review of Rhode Island's Paid Leave to ensure you're aware of key upcoming dates and the requirements to ensure your compliance.
What employers need to know
- Employee Eligibility Criteria:
- Employees must have worked in Rhode Island and paid into the Temporary Disability Insurance Fund.
- For claims filed after 10/1/20, employees must have earned at least $13,800.00 in base period wages; or $2,300.00 in one of the base period quarters, total base period wages of at least 1.5 times the highest quarter earnings, and total base period earnings of at least $4,600.00.
- Weekly Benefit Amount:
- Benefit rates equal 4.62% of wages paid in highest quarter of the employee’s base period, or approximately 60% of an employee’s average weekly wage. As of 10/1/20: $107.00 minimum benefit per week and $887.00 maximum benefit per week (excluding dependency allowance).
- Employee and/or Employer Contributions to the program:
- 100% employee funded.
- Employees contribute 1.3% of the first $72,300.00 in earnings as of January 1, 2020 via payroll withholding. This single contribution funds both the Temporary Disability Insurance Program and the Temporary Caregiver Insurance Program.
- Duration of Leave:
- Up to 30 weeks for Temporary Disability Insurance and up to 4 weeks for Temporary Caregiver Insurance.
- Qualifying events making employees/participants eligible for leave:
- To care for employee’s temporary disability or injury.
- To care for a seriously ill child, spouse, domestic partner, parent, parent-in-law, or grandparent.
- To bond with a newborn child, or child newly adopted or placed in foster-care.
- Other relevant Information:
- Notice Requirement: employers must post notification of TDI and TCI leave.
- TCI leave is job-protected leave, and upon an employee’s return from leave, an employer must offer the employee their former position or a comparable one, with equivalent seniority, benefits, pay, and other conditions such as fringe benefits, if applicable.
Please visit Rhode Island’s paid leave website for more information and additional resources.
Disclaimer: The information contained herein is not intended to be construed as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. Employers should closely monitor the rules and regulations specific to their jurisdiction(s) and should seek advice from counsel relative to their rights and responsibilities.
By Megan Butz
General Counsel, HR Compliance, Checkwriters
Megan joined Checkwriters in 2020 and is responsible for reviewing, revising, and implementing internal policies of the company, advising on human resource, employment, and labor matters, and monitoring and publishing state and federal legal updates to the Checkwriters News and Compliance Center for distribution to thousands of clients around the country. Before joining Checkwriters, Megan served as a judicial law clerk for the justices of the Massachusetts Probate and Family Court performing legal research and writing, followed by private practice in Cape Cod.