Oregon minimum wage update

Effective July 1, 2021, Oregon’s standard minimum wage is $12.75 per hour; Portland metro area is $14.00 per hour; and non-urban counties is $12.00 per hour.

Oregon’s minimum wage will continue to increase annually on July 1 through 2022.

Effective July 1, 2023, the state standard minimum wage rate will be indexed to inflation based on the Consumer Price Index (CPI). Thereafter, the rates for the Portland metro area and for non-urban counties will be the standard rate plus $1.25 per hour, and the standard minimum wage rate minus $1.00, respectively.

Oregon does not provide for a training wage, nor does it permit employers to utilize a tip credit.

For more information, please click here >

By Megan Butz
General Counsel, HR Compliance, Checkwriters
Megan joined Checkwriters in 2020 and is responsible for reviewing, revising, and implementing internal policies of the company, advising on human resource, employment, and labor matters, and monitoring and publishing state and federal legal updates to the Checkwriters News and Compliance Center for distribution to thousands of clients around the country. Before joining Checkwriters, Megan served as a judicial law clerk for the justices of the Massachusetts Probate and Family Court performing legal research and writing, followed by private practice in Cape Cod.

Go back