Ohio minimum wage update

  • Effective January 1, 2021, the state minimum wage is $8.80 per hour and is applicable to employers with gross annual receipts of more than $323,000.00.
  • Employers with gross annual receipts less than $323,000.00 must pay their employees the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.
  • Minor employees under the age of sixteen (16) must be paid the federal minimum wage.
  • “Tipped employees” (employees in an occupation in which they regularly and customarily earn in excess of $30.00 per month in tips) may be paid a minimum base wage of $4.40 per hour, so long as the base wage plus tips totals at least the state minimum wage of $8.80 per hour.
  • There are certain classes of employees which are exempt from the state minimum wage requirements including employees of a solely family owned and operated business who are family members of the owner of such business.
  • For more information, please visit the Ohio Department of Commerce website.

By Megan Butz
General Counsel, HR Compliance, Checkwriters
Megan joined Checkwriters in 2020 and is responsible for reviewing, revising, and implementing internal policies of the company, advising on human resource, employment, and labor matters, and monitoring and publishing state and federal legal updates to the Checkwriters News and Compliance Center for distribution to thousands of clients around the country. Before joining Checkwriters, Megan served as a judicial law clerk for the justices of the Massachusetts Probate and Family Court performing legal research and writing, followed by private practice in Cape Cod.

Go back