New Mexico minimum wage update
- Effective January 1, 2021, the state minimum wage is $10.50 per hour. The minimum base wage for tipped employees is $2.55 per hour.
- Several counties in New Mexico have their own living wage ordinances which may depart from the state minimum wage including Albuquerque, Bernalillo County, Las Cruces, City of Santa Fe and Santa Fe County.
- Employers are subject to the highest available rate in their applicable jurisdiction.
- For more information please visit the New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions website.
 As of March 1, 2020.
By Megan Butz
General Counsel, HR Compliance, Checkwriters
Megan joined Checkwriters in 2020 and is responsible for reviewing, revising, and implementing internal policies of the company, advising on human resource, employment, and labor matters, and monitoring and publishing state and federal legal updates to the Checkwriters News and Compliance Center for distribution to thousands of clients around the country. Before joining Checkwriters, Megan served as a judicial law clerk for the justices of the Massachusetts Probate and Family Court performing legal research and writing, followed by private practice in Cape Cod.