New Jersey minimum wage update

  • January 1, 2021 , the state minimum wage for most employees is $12.00 per hour.
  • For seasonal and small employers (those with less than six employees) the minimum wage is $11.10 per hour.
  • For agricultural employers, the minimum wage is $10.44 per hour.
  • For tipped employees, the state minimum base or cash wage is $4.13 per hour.
  • Employees who are not covered by New Jersey’s minimum wage requirements include automobile salespersons, outside salespersons, part-time employees primarily engaged in childcare in the home of an employer; minors under the age of eighteen (18) except for those working in hotels, restaurants, retail, beauty culture, and cleaning occupations, among others).
  • Full-time college students employed by the college or university which they attend must be paid no less than 85% of the state minimum wage.
  • Direct care staff at long-term care facilities must be paid $3.00 above the prevailing minimum wage rate, which would be $15.00 effective January 1, 2021.
  • For more information, please see these FAQs found on the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development website.

By Megan Butz
General Counsel, HR Compliance, Checkwriters
Megan joined Checkwriters in 2020 and is responsible for reviewing, revising, and implementing internal policies of the company, advising on human resource, employment, and labor matters, and monitoring and publishing state and federal legal updates to the Checkwriters News and Compliance Center for distribution to thousands of clients around the country. Before joining Checkwriters, Megan served as a judicial law clerk for the justices of the Massachusetts Probate and Family Court performing legal research and writing, followed by private practice in Cape Cod.

Go back