Montana minimum wage update

  • Effective January 1, 2021, the state minimum wage is $8.75 per hour.
  • Businesses who are not subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act whose gross sales are $110,000 or less may pay a wage of $4.00 per hour.
  • There is no tip credit, training wage or meal credit permitted in Montana.
  • For more information, please visit the Montana Department of Labor and Industry website.

By Megan Butz
General Counsel, HR Compliance, Checkwriters
Megan joined Checkwriters in 2020 and is responsible for reviewing, revising, and implementing internal policies of the company, advising on human resource, employment, and labor matters, and monitoring and publishing state and federal legal updates to the Checkwriters News and Compliance Center for distribution to thousands of clients around the country. Before joining Checkwriters, Megan served as a judicial law clerk for the justices of the Massachusetts Probate and Family Court performing legal research and writing, followed by private practice in Cape Cod.

Go back