Michigan minimum wage update

  • The state minimum wage did not increase for 2021 as the unemployment rate exceeded 8.5% in 2020 and remains $9.65 per hour. The next scheduled increase to $9.87 per hour shall be effective during the following calendar year when unemployment is less than 8.5%.
  • The minimum hourly rate for tipped employees remains at $3.67 per hour.
  • Minimum salary compensation for those employees exempt from overtime requirements as executive, administrative and professional employees is $684.00 per week.
  • The state minimum wage and overtime laws are applicable to employers that have two (2) or more employees.
  • Minor employees may be paid 85% of the state minimum wage.
  • Newly hired employees between the ages of sixteen (16) and nineteen (19) may be paid a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first ninety (90) days of their employment.
  • For more information, please visit the Michigan Labor and Economic Opportunity website.

By Megan Butz
General Counsel, HR Compliance, Checkwriters
Megan joined Checkwriters in 2020 and is responsible for reviewing, revising, and implementing internal policies of the company, advising on human resource, employment, and labor matters, and monitoring and publishing state and federal legal updates to the Checkwriters News and Compliance Center for distribution to thousands of clients around the country. Before joining Checkwriters, Megan served as a judicial law clerk for the justices of the Massachusetts Probate and Family Court performing legal research and writing, followed by private practice in Cape Cod.

Go back