Illinois minimum wage update

  • Effective January 1, 2021, the state minimum wage is $11.00 per hour. Employers with at least four (4) employees are subject to the state minimum wage requirements. Domestic workers are covered by the state minimum wage law, even if the employer only employs one (1) worker.
  • New employees (who do not receive gratuities) may be paid $.50 less per hour for the first ninety (90) days of their employment ($10.50 per hour for 2021). Thereafter, they must be paid the full state minimum wage.
  • For employees who receive gratuities, an employer may pay such employees no less than sixty percent (60%) of the state minimum wage. If a deficit exists between the state minimum wage and the tipped employee’s base wage plus tips, the employer must make up the difference.
  • The state minimum wage laws apply to employees age eighteen (18) or older. Minors above the age of fourteen (14), but who have not attained age eighteen (18) may be paid a minimum wage of $8.50 per hour. Under eighteen (18) employees who work 650 hours or more for an employer during a calendar year must be paid $11.00 per hour for each hour above this threshold.
  • For more information, please see these FAQs located on the Illinois Department of Labor website.

By Megan Butz
General Counsel, HR Compliance, Checkwriters
Megan joined Checkwriters in 2020 and is responsible for reviewing, revising, and implementing internal policies of the company, advising on human resource, employment, and labor matters, and monitoring and publishing state and federal legal updates to the Checkwriters News and Compliance Center for distribution to thousands of clients around the country. Before joining Checkwriters, Megan served as a judicial law clerk for the justices of the Massachusetts Probate and Family Court performing legal research and writing, followed by private practice in Cape Cod.

Go back