Florida minimum wage update
- Effective January 1, 2021, the state minimum wage is $8.65 per hour and the state minimum wage for tipped employees is $5.63 per hour.
- For tipped employees, employers may use a maximum tip credit of $3.02 per hour to meet the state 2021 minimum wage of $8.65 per hour.
- For more information, please visit the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity Website.
By Megan Butz
General Counsel, HR Compliance, Checkwriters
Megan joined Checkwriters in 2020 and is responsible for reviewing, revising, and implementing internal policies of the company, advising on human resource, employment, and labor matters, and monitoring and publishing state and federal legal updates to the Checkwriters News and Compliance Center for distribution to thousands of clients around the country. Before joining Checkwriters, Megan served as a judicial law clerk for the justices of the Massachusetts Probate and Family Court performing legal research and writing, followed by private practice in Cape Cod.