Florida minimum wage update

Florida state-wide minimum wage will increase from $10.00 to $11.00 per hour effective September 30, 2022. Florida traces the FLSA requirements as to tipped employees, utilizing the federal tip credit of $3.02 per hour. The direct wage or service rate for tipped employees will therefore increase from $6.98 per hour to $7.98 per hour based on Florida’s increased minimum wage.

Disclaimer: The information contained herein is not intended to be construed as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. Employers should closely monitor the rules and regulations specific to their jurisdiction(s) and should seek advice from counsel relative to their rights and responsibilities.

By Megan Butz
General Counsel, HR Compliance, Checkwriters
Megan joined Checkwriters in 2020 and is responsible for reviewing, revising, and implementing internal policies of the company, advising on human resource, employment, and labor matters, and monitoring and publishing state and federal legal updates to the Checkwriters News and Compliance Center for distribution to thousands of clients around the country. Before joining Checkwriters, Megan served as a judicial law clerk for the justices of the Massachusetts Probate and Family Court performing legal research and writing, followed by private practice in Cape Cod.

Go back