Connecticut minimum wage update
- The Connecticut State-wide minimum wage will increase from $13.00 to $14.00 per hour effective July 1, 2022.
- The service rate for tipped service employees and bartenders will remain at $6.38 and $8.23, respectively.
- While the employer’s share for tipped employees remains fixed at the values above for the current time, the value of the employer tip credit will increase with each minimum wage increase as the delta between the fixed employer share and the updated state minimum wage also increases.
Disclaimer: The information contained herein is not intended to be construed as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. Employers should closely monitor the rules and regulations specific to their jurisdiction(s) and should seek advice from counsel relative to their rights and responsibilities.
By Megan Butz
General Counsel, HR Compliance, Checkwriters
Megan joined Checkwriters in 2020 and is responsible for reviewing, revising, and implementing internal policies of the company, advising on human resource, employment, and labor matters, and monitoring and publishing state and federal legal updates to the Checkwriters News and Compliance Center for distribution to thousands of clients around the country. Before joining Checkwriters, Megan served as a judicial law clerk for the justices of the Massachusetts Probate and Family Court performing legal research and writing, followed by private practice in Cape Cod.