December 12, 2020

Colorado paid sick leave

Effective January 1, 2021, Colorado employers with 16 or more employees must provide paid sick leave to their employees accrued at 1 hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked, up to a maximum of 48 hours per year. Effective January 1, 2022, this requirement will become applicable to all Colorado employers regardless of size. The Act also requires an employer, regardless of size, to provide its employees with an additional amount of paid sick leave during a public health emergency such as COVID-19. A summary of the law can be found here >>

By Megan Butz
General Counsel, HR Compliance, Checkwriters
Megan joined Checkwriters in 2020 and is responsible for reviewing, revising, and implementing internal policies of the company, advising on human resource, employment, and labor matters, and monitoring and publishing state and federal legal updates to the Checkwriters News and Compliance Center for distribution to thousands of clients around the country. Before joining Checkwriters, Megan served as a judicial law clerk for the justices of the Massachusetts Probate and Family Court performing legal research and writing, followed by private practice in Cape Cod.

Go back