California minimum wage update
- Effective January 1, 2021, the state minimum wage for employers with 25 employees or less is $13.00 per hour; for employers with 26 employees or more it is $14.00 per hour.
- Employers are not permitted to take a tip credit in order to meet an employee’s minimum wage rate.
- Categories of employees exempt from the state minimum wage requirement include:
- Outside salespersons;
- Employees who are the parent, spouse or child of the employer; and
- Apprentices regularly indentured under the State Division of Apprenticeship standards.
- For more information, please visit the California Department of Industrial Relations website.
By Megan Butz
General Counsel, HR Compliance, Checkwriters
Megan joined Checkwriters in 2020 and is responsible for reviewing, revising, and implementing internal policies of the company, advising on human resource, employment, and labor matters, and monitoring and publishing state and federal legal updates to the Checkwriters News and Compliance Center for distribution to thousands of clients around the country. Before joining Checkwriters, Megan served as a judicial law clerk for the justices of the Massachusetts Probate and Family Court performing legal research and writing, followed by private practice in Cape Cod.