Arizona minimum wage update

  • The state minimum wage effective January 1, 2021 is $12.15, and “must be paid for all hours worked, regardless of the frequency of payment and regardless of whether the wage is paid on an hourly, salaried, commissioned, piece rate, or any other basis.”
  • Employers are permitted to pay tipped employees up to $3.00 per hour less than the minimum wage (bringing the minimum wage for tipped employees for 2021 to $9.15 per hour), provided that the employees earn at least minimum wage for all hours worked each week, including tips.
  • For more information, please visit the Industrial Commission of Arizona website.

By Megan Butz
General Counsel, HR Compliance, Checkwriters
Megan joined Checkwriters in 2020 and is responsible for reviewing, revising, and implementing internal policies of the company, advising on human resource, employment, and labor matters, and monitoring and publishing state and federal legal updates to the Checkwriters News and Compliance Center for distribution to thousands of clients around the country. Before joining Checkwriters, Megan served as a judicial law clerk for the justices of the Massachusetts Probate and Family Court performing legal research and writing, followed by private practice in Cape Cod.

Go back