Florida employers now required to report new hires

EFFECTVE OCTOBER 1, 2021: All employers, regardless of size, are now required to report their newly hired or re-hired employees working in Florida to the state. Previously, only employers with 250 or more employees were required to report new hires. (You must also report independent contractors if you pay them $600 or more per year.)

Employers must send the following information to Florida’s State Directory of New Hires:

  • The employee’s name, address, date of hire, social security number, and (if available) date of birth; and
  • The employer’s federal employer identification number (EIN).

Reporting is due within 20 days of when the employee is hired or, if reporting electronically, twice per month, 12 to 16 days apart.

Disclaimer:The information contained herein is not intended to be construed as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. Employers should closely monitor the rules and regulations specific to their jurisdiction(s) and should seek advice from counsel relative to their rights and responsibilities.

By Megan Butz
General Counsel, HR Compliance, Checkwriters
Megan joined Checkwriters in 2020 and is responsible for reviewing, revising, and implementing internal policies of the company, advising on human resource, employment, and labor matters, and monitoring and publishing state and federal legal updates to the Checkwriters News and Compliance Center for distribution to thousands of clients around the country. Before joining Checkwriters, Megan served as a judicial law clerk for the justices of the Massachusetts Probate and Family Court performing legal research and writing, followed by private practice in Cape Cod.

Go back