State-by-State Minimum Wage Update 2019

(comments: 0)


The Federal minimum wage has been $7.25 since 2009, but many states, counties, and cities have passed their own minimum wage laws. Employers must pay non-exempt employees at least minimum wage and if the mandated federal, state, or municipal rate differs, the highest rate must be paid.

18 states increased their minimum wage effective December 31, 2018 or January 1, 2019, and 3 more will increase their minimum wage later in 2019.

The states with increases are listed below. Also, please download our state-by-state minimum wage chart at the bottom of this post!

Alaska

Increased from $9.84 to $9.89 on January 1, 2019.

Arizona

Increased from $10.50 to $11.00 on January 1, 2019. Arizona’s tipped minimum wage also increased from $7.50 to $8.00.

Arkansas

Increased from $8.50 to $9.25 on January 1, 2019. Does not affect Arkansas’s tip credit of $3.62.

California

On January 1, 2019, the minimum wage for California employers with 25 or fewer employees increased from $10.50 to $11.00. The minimum wage for California employers with 26 or more employees increased from $11.00 to $12.00. This minimum wage increase applies to tipped employees as well.

Colorado

Increased from $10.20 to $11.10 on January 1, 2019. Colorado's tipped minimum wage also increased from $7.18 to $8.08.

Delaware

Will increase from $8.75 to $9.25 on October 1, 2019. Does not affect Delaware’s tip credit of $2.23.

District of Columbia

Will increase from $13.25 to $14.00 on July 1, 2019. D. C.'s tipped  minimum wage will also increase from $3.89 to $4.45.

Florida

Increased from $8.25 to $8.46 on January 1, 2019. The tipped minimum wage also increased from $5.23 to $5.44.

Maine

Increased from $10.00 to $11.00 on January 1, 2019. The tipped minimum wage also increased from $5.00 to $5.50.

Massachusetts

Increased from $11.00 to $12.00 on January 1, 2019. The tipped minimum wage also increased to $4.35.

Minnesota

For “large employers” (employers with annual gross revenue of $500,000 or more), the minimum wage increased from $9.65 to $9.86. For “small employers” (employers with annual gross revenue of less than $500,000) the minimum wage increased from $7.87 to $8.04. This minimum wage increase applies to tipped employees as well.

Missouri

Increased from $7.85 to $8.60 on January 1, 2019. Missouri’s tipped minimum wage increased from $3.93 to $4.30 on January 1, 2019. (NB: Employers engaged in retail or service businesses whose annual gross income is less than $500,000 are not required to pay the state minimum wage rate).

Montana

Increased to $8.50 on January 1, 2019. This minimum wage increase applies to tipped employees as well.

New Jersey

Increased from $8.60 to $8.85 on January 1, 2019. Does not affect the tipped minimum wage of $2.13.

New York

On December 31, 2018, the minimum wage for New York City “big employers” (11 or more employees) increased from $13.00 to $15.00, and the tipped minimum wage increased from $8.65 to $10.00. The minimum wage for New York City “small employers” (10 or fewer employees) increased from $12.00 to $13.50, and the tipped minimum wage increased from $8.00 to $9.00. The minimum wage for employers in Long Island and Westchester increased from $11.00 to $12.00, and the tipped employee minimum wage increased from $7.50 to $8.00. The minimum wage for employers in the remainder of the state increased from $10.40 to $11.10, and the tipped employee minimum wage rate remained $7.50.

Employers should be aware that New York’s state minimum wage laws permit regulations known as “Wage Orders,” which govern the minimum wage for specific industries, including the hospitality, building service, and farm industries.

Ohio

Increased from $8.30 to $8.55 on January 1, 2019. Ohio's tipped minimum wage increased from $4.15 to $4.30. Employers who gross less than $314,000 are not affected by this increase, but still must comply with the federal minimum wage rate.

Oregon

Standard minimum wage rate will increase from $10.75 to $11.25 on July 1, 2019. The minimum wage for employers in the Portland metro area will increase from $12.00 to $12.50. The minimum wage for employers in Oregon’s “Nonurban Counties” (Baker, Klamath, Coos, Lake, Crook, Malheur, Curry, Morrow, Douglas, Sherman, Gilliam, Umatilla, Grant, Union, Harney, Wallowa, Jefferson, and Wheeler) will increase from $10.50 to $11.00. This minimum wage increase applies to tipped employees as well.

Rhode Island

Increased from $10.10 to $10.50 on January 1, 2019. The minimum wage for tipped employees remains $3.89.

South Dakota

Increased from $8.85 to $9.10 on January 1, 2019. The tipped minimum wage will also increase from $4.43 to $4.55.

Vermont

Increased from $10.50 to $10.78 on January 1, 2019. The tipped minimum wage increased from $5.25 to $5.39.

Washington

Increased from $11.50 to $12.00 on January 1, 2019. This minimum wage increase applies to tipped employees as well.

 

Download a full state-by-state (inclusive of any cities, counties, and/or municipalities) chart of minimum wage rates and increases here >

 

 

Go back

Add a comment